
BEFORE THE NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

Maurice Gene Hand, Director of 
the Communications Department of 
the Nebraska Public Service 
Commission, 
   
                 Complainant, 
v. 
 
OnStar Corporation, 
TracFone Wireless, Inc. 
 
 
                 Respondents. 
 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Application No. DC-68 
 
 
 
 
 
 COMPLAINT  
 
 
 
 
 
Filed:  September 21, 2004 
 

COMES NOW Maurice Gene Hand, Director of the Communications 
Department of the Nebraska Public Service Commission 
(hereinafter Complainant) and files the above-captioned 
Complaint filed in this matter against: 

 
 OnStar Corporation 
 TracFone Wireless, Inc. 
 

(hereinafter collectively referred to as the Respondents) 
alleging the following: 
 

1. The Complainant is the Director of the Communications 
Department of the Nebraska Public Service Commission 
(Commission.) 

2. The Respondents are wireless telecommunications companies 
as defined by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-125(6)(Cum. Supp. 
2002) and Title 291, Neb. Admin. R. & Regs., Chapter 5, 
Section 008.02E. 

3. Jurisdiction is proper pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 86-
124 to 86-125 and Title 291, Neb. Admin. R. & Regs. 
Chapter 5. 

4. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-125(1) requires wireless carriers 
providing telecommunications service in the State of 
Nebraska to file a registration form with and pay a 
registration fee to the Commission.  Subsection (2) 
provides that the registration shall be on a form 
prescribed by the Commission.   

5. Pursuant to its authority provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 
86-125(3), the Commission has promulgated rules and 
regulations consistent with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-125, has 
adopted a prescribed registration form, and has 
established a Fifty dollar ($50.00) first time filing fee 
for wireless carriers. 
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6. Title 291 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 5, § 008.03A provides 
in pertinent part: 

 
008.03A  Registration Required:  A 
wireless carrier providing 
telecommunications service in Nebraska 
shall file a registration with the 
Commission.  A wireless carrier which 
provided such telecommunications 
service prior to January 1, 2003, and 
which continues to pro-vide such 
telecommunications service on and after 
January 1, 2003, shall register with 
the Commission prior to April 1, 2003.  
Any wireless carrier which begins to 
provide telecommunications service in 
Nebraska on or after January 1, 2003, 
shall register with the Commission 
prior to providing such 
telecommunications service.  

 
7. The Complainant alleges that Respondents named herein have 

violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-125 by failing to register 
or provide the required information with the Commission. 

 
8. The Complainant further alleges that Respondents named 

herein have violated 291 Neb. Admin. Code, Chapter 5, § 
008 by failing to register with the Commission and by 
failing to file the required information and fee.  
 
WHEREAS the Complainant therefore respectfully prays for an 

Order from the Nebraska Public Service Commission finding the 
Respondents named herein guilty of the alleged violation(s) and 
levying an administrative penalty against the Respondents for 
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each violation pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 75-156(2), an 
amount not to exceed One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) per violation 
per day. The Complainant further requests that the Commission 
grant any other relief it deems appropriate. 
 

     Respectfully Submitted, 
 
 
 

      _________________________________ 
      Shana L. Knutson, #21833 
      Staff Attorney 

   Nebraska Public Service Commission 
       300 The Atrium Building 
      1200 N Street 
      P.O. Box 94927 
      Lincoln, Nebraska 68509   

 
State of Nebraska  ) 

    ) ss 
County of Lancaster ) 

 
VERIFICATION 

 
  Maurice Gene Hand, being first duly sworn on oath, deposes 
and says that he is the duly-appointed Director of the 
Communications Department of the Nebraska Public Service 
Commission; that he is the Complainant in the foregoing 
pleading; that he has read the allegations contained therein; 
and understands them to be true to the best of his knowledge and 
belief. 
 
 

       _____________________________ 
       Maurice Gene Hand  
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me on this _____ day of 
September, 2004. 
 

 
 

_____________________________ 
Notary Public 

(SEAL) 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 

 I certify that, a true and correct copy of the above 
Complaint was sent by First Class, Certified, United States 
Mail, postage prepaid, on September ____, 2004, to the 
following:   
 
TracFone Wireless, Inc.   OnStar Corporation 
Bob Collins     Michelle Liu 
8390 NW 25th Street    1400 Stephenson Highway 
Miami, FL  33122    Troy, MI  48084 
 
 
 

      _____________________________ 
           Shana L. Knutson #21833 
 
 
 

 
N O T I C E 

 
1. Pursuant to Neb. Admin. R. & Regs., title 291, chapter 

1, section 005.09, the Respondent(s) is hereby notified that an 
answer to this complaint shall be filed and shall admit or deny 
each material allegation of the complaint.  The answer shall 
assert any affirmative defenses which the Respondent may assert.  
The answer shall be filed with the Commission within twenty (20) 
days after service of the complaint.  Except for good cause 
shown, failure to answer will be construed as an admission of 
the allegations in the complaint.  Failure to file an answer or 
to appear at the hearing allows the Commission to (a) 
immediately enter an order assessing a civil penalty as provided 
by law; or (b) to proceed with the hearing and receive evidence 
of the alleged violation and to assess a civil penalty as 
provided by law. 
 
 2. Pursuant to title 291, chapter 5, section 008, and 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 75-156(2), the Commission may impose an 
administrative penalty not to exceed One Hundred Dollars 
($100.00) for each violation per day.   


