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What is an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device? 

An Auto Dialer is any device that:  

 

1. Randomly selects and dials a telephone 

number; 

2. Plays a recorded message. 

 

**Note** -- If a live person is involved, either in dialing 

the number or playing the recorded message, it is not 

considered an Auto Dialer call. 



What are Robo Calls? 

 

Calls made with an Auto Dialer have 

been dubbed informally  

“Robo Calls.” 



The Law 

Auto Dialers are regulated in Nebraska 

pursuant to the  

Automatic Dialing-Announcing Devices Act 

(ADAD Act) 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 86-236 – 86-257 



Who does the ADAD Apply to? 

In Nebraska, any person using an Auto Dialer 

to place calls to Nebraska citizens, except for 

some specific exceptions, must be 

authorized to do so by the Commission. 

 

The location of the Auto Dialer is irrelevant. 



Permit vs. Registration 

 Nebraska law has 2 categories of authorities: 

 

– Permits – for those using Auto Dialers for the 

purpose of soliciting business  

 (i.e. Telemarketers.) 

 

– Registrations – for those using Auto Dialers for 

any purpose other than solicitations (i.e. 

Political calls, Non-profit fundraising)  



Permits 

 Only applies to those doing telephone 
solicitations 

 Solicitation is defined as:  encouraging the 
purchase or rental of, investment in, 
property, goods, or services 

 Has a $500 application fee 

 Must maintain a “Do Not Call List” 

 Have five days to submit script changes 

 Good for 2 years 

 



Registrations 

 Calls for purposes other than solicitations 

 No application fee 

 Not required to maintain a “Do Not Call 

List” 

 Have 24 hours to submit script changes 

 Good for 2 years 



Exceptions to Registrations 

 

The ADAD Act does include four exceptions 

to registration 

 

No registration required if meet one of the four 

following exceptions 



#1 Business or Personal Relationship 

 Established: prior or existing relationship formed by 
voluntary two-way communication, with or without 
consideration, not previously terminated by either party. 

 

 Must be sufficient contact between parties to evidence 
relationship 

 

 Personal is limited to calls from individuals with whom the 
called party has a personal or at least firsthand relationship. 

 

 Registering to vote, voting, making a donation are NOT 
sufficiently established relationships 



Relationship Examples 

Business Examples:   

 Insurance Company calling current policy holders about past 

due premiums or other insurance products  

Drug stores calling to inform customers orders are ready for 

pick-up 

Doctor offices calling patients to remind and confirm 

appointments. 

Personal Example:   

 A Church or religious organization calling members about 

service time changes  

 Charity groups reminding volunteers of project start times 

 



#2 Schools 

Messages from educational 

institutions to its students, parents, or 

employees, includes:  

Elementary  

Secondary 

Postsecondary  

 



#3 Employers 

 

Message from employers to employees 

advising of work schedules 



#4 Political Subdivisions 

Messages from a political subdivision. 

 i.e. - Severe weather alerts, construction information 

Political Subdivisions include: 

Villages 

Cities of all classes 

Counties 

 School Districts 

Learning Communities 

 Public Power Districts 

All other units of local government 

*Does NOT include contractors with political subdivisions 
  



Who needs a Registration? 

 The person operating an Auto Dialer must 

hold a registration 

 

 Those contracting with a third party to place 

Auto Dialer calls on their behalf do NOT 

need a registration, however, they must 

ensure the third party is properly 

registered. 



Registration Applications 

 Applicants must fill out an application form 
provided by the Commission 

 There is one form for both Permits and 
Registration, the applicant simply indicates which 
kind of authority is sought 

 Applications must include a sample script or a 
description of the type of scripts the applicant 
intends to run 

 Application forms are available on the 
Commission’s website: www.psc.nebraska.gov  

http://www.psc.nebraska.gov/


Application Process 

 File the completed and signed application form 
with the Commission. (No fee required for 
registrations) 

 Commission staff will process the application and 
assign the application a docket number.  All Auto 
Dialer authorities are given AD docket numbers. 

 If all requirements are met, the Commission will 
enter an order approving the application at its next 
meeting 

 The order serves as the official Registration for the 
Auto Dialer (Good for 2 years) 



Message Requirements 

 State at the beginning of the message the 
identity of the person or group responsible 
for the message; 

 A phone number or address, other than of 
the device, of person making call, includes 
email addresses; and 

 Only transmit calls between the hours of 8 
a.m. and 9 p.m., time determined by called 
party’s location 



Filing Scripts 

 Scripts for registrations must be filed no later 

than 24 hours from the time the message 

ran. 

 Scripts can be filed before the call runs. 

 Scripts are placed in the appropriate 

registration or permit holder’s file. 

 



Will the Commission look at the 

content of my message? 

 

The Commission only reviews scripts for the 

limited purpose to ensure statutorily required 

information is included.   

 

The Commission does not review scripts for 

content of the messages.   



Will my scripts be kept confidential? 

Scripts are public records 

They will be made available for public 

inspection upon the receipt of a public 

records request. 



How do I file a script? 

Scripts can be filed with the Commission via  

email  

fax  

snail mail (must be received by 

deadline). 

in person during business hours 



Script Filing Information 

Email to: 
nichole.mulcahy@nebraska.gov and 

susan.horn@nebraska.gov  

Fax to: 
(402) 471-0254, Attn: Communications Department 

Mail to: 
The Nebraska Public Service Commission 

300 The Atrium 

1200 N Street 

Lincoln, NE  68508 

mailto:nichole.mulcahy@nebraska.gov
mailto:susan.horn@nebraska.gov


Do I need to file a script we have 

used before? 

 Scripts only need to be filed once.  If a script 

has been previously filed, it does not need to 

be filed again.  Only new or changed scripts 

are required to be filed within 24 hours. 

 

*If it has been more than 2 years since the script was 

run, the script must be filed under the new AD 

Docket Number. 



What if my script is basically the 

same with minor variations.  Do I 

need to file a copy of each one? 
 

No, a sample script indicating the information 
that will change and an explanatory 
statement about how each one will be 
slightly different is sufficient. 

 

Example:  This message is for [insert name]. 
Please remember to vote in the Primary 
election this Tuesday. 



Liability 

 Both the Auto Dialer operator and anyone 

who contracts with an Auto Dialer to make 

calls on their behalf are jointly and severally 

liable to ensure the provisions of the Act are 

followed.   

 

Applies to both Registrations and Permits 



Questions? 



Contact Information 

Nichole Mulcahy 

Legal 

(402) 471-0234 

Nichole.mulcahy@nebraska.gov 

 

Susan Horn 

Administrative Support 

(402) 471-0248 

Susan.horn@nebraska.gov 

 

mailto:Nichole.mulcahy@nebraska.gov
mailto:Susan.horn@nebraska.gov

