e

AUTOMATIC DIALING-ANNOUNCING DEVICES
ADMINISTRATIVE FINING POLICY

Unauthorized Usage
e Any person operating an automatic dialing-announcing device (ADAD) to

transmit calls to Nebraska citizens without a permit or registration shall be subject
to an order to cease and desist and administrative penalties.

Late-Filed Scripts

» An ADAD registration script will be considered late when it is not filed within 24
hours following the time the ADAD began to transmit calls playing the script.

¢ An ADAD permit script will be considered late when it is not filed within 5
business days following the time the ADAD began to transmit calls playing the
serpt.

' In the event the 24 hour or 5 day period falls on a weekend or holiday, the script
shall be due the next business day.

-Penalty

e Unauthorized usage of an unregistered or unpermitted ADAD, a late-filed script
and/or other violation of the Act and Commuission rules will be subject to
administrative penalties including fines and processing fees.

Processing Fees _
& $100 per violation.
* Only one processing fee per occurrence.
¢ Payable to the NPSC Communications Department.

Administrative Fine (15 Offense)

o Fifty dollars ($50) for each day a script is considered late, per day of unauthorized
transmittal of messages without a valid registration or permit, and per other
violation of the Act and Commission Rules.

¢ Additional fines may be proposed.

¢ All fines will be payable to the Nebraska Public Service Commission and
deposited in the common school fund.

Administrative Fine (2™ Offense)

» Upon the opening of a second complaint against the same ADAD operator or
amending a complaint due to continued alleged violations of the Act and
Commission Rules during the 2 years the permit/registration is in effect.

.o One hundred and fifty dollar ($150) for each day a script is considered late, per
day of unauthorized transmittal of messages without a valid registration or permit,
and per other violation of the Act and Commission Rules.

e Additional fines may be proposed.

» All fines will be payable to the Nebraska Public Service Commission and
deposited in the common school fund.
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Admm]stratlve Fine (3™ Offense)

« Upon the opening of a third complaint against the same ADAD operator or
amending a complaint a second time due to continued alleged violations of the
Act and Commission Rules during the 2 years the permit/registration is i effect.

s One thousand dollar ($1000) fine and revocation of the registration or permit held

- by the ADAD operator.

s Additional fines may be proposed.
All fines will be payable to the Nebraska Public Service Commission and
deposited in the common school fund.

Waiver '
The Commission may issue a waiver in lieu of a penaity for reglstrants and/or permit
holders that:

e Have not previously had any other violations of the Act and Commission rules
unless it has grounds to believe an operator has willfully violated the Act and
Commission Rules.

o Provide information regarding reasonable exigent circumstances resulting in the
violation of the Act and Commission rules and do not have a history of violating

‘the Act and Commission Rules.

Settlement and Hearing _
e An ADAD operator has thirty (30) days from the date the complaint was received
to stipulate with the department in order to settle the complaint.

e If the complaint is not settled the matter will be set for hearing.







