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What is an Automatic Dialing-Announcing Device?
An Auto Dialer is any device that:

1. Randomly selects and dials a telephone
number;
2. Plays a recorded message.

**Note** . If a live person is involved, either in dialing
the number or playing the recorded message, it is not
considered an Auto Dialer call.

What are Robo Calls?

Calls made with an Auto Dialer have
been dubbed informally

- *Robo Calls.”




The Law

Aauto Dialers are regulated in Nebraska
pursuant to the

Automatic Dialing-Announcing Devices Act
(ADAD Act)
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 86-236 — 86-257

Who does the ADAD Apply to?

In Nebraska, any person using an Auto Dialer
to place calls to Nebraska citizens, except for
some specific exceptions, must be
authorized to do so by the Commission.

The location of the Auto Dialer is irrelevant.

Permit vs. Registration
» Nebraska law has 2 categories of authorities:

— Perimits -- for those using Auto Dialers for the
purpose of soliciting business

(i.e. Telemarketers.)

- Registrations — for those vsing Auto Dialers for
any purpose other than solicitations (i.e.
Political calls, Non-profit fundraising)




Permits

» Only applies to those doing telephoné
solicitations )

» Solicitation is defined as: encouraging the
purchase or rental of, investment in,
property, goods, or services

» Has a $500 application fee

> Must maintain a “Do Not Call List”

» Have five days to submit script changes
» Good for 2 years

Registrations

> Calls for purposes other than solicitations

» No application fee

» Not required to maintain a “IDo Not Call
List”

» Have 24 hours to submit script changes

» Good for 2 years

s

Exceptions to Registrations

The ADAD Act does include four exceptions
to registration

No registration required if meet one of the four
following exceptions
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#1 Business or Personal Relationshiﬁ

» Established: prior or existing relationship formed by
volantary two-way communication, with or without
consideration, not previously terminated by either pasty.

» Must be sufficient contact between parties to evidence
relationship

Personal is imited to calls from Individuals with whom the
called party has a personal or at least firsthand relationship.

A4

> Registering to vote, voting, :ﬁaking a donation are NOT
sufficiently established relationships

Relationship Examples

Business Examples:

¥ Insurance Company calling current policy holders about past
due premiums or other insurance products

¥ Drug stores calling to inforrn castomers orders are ready for
pick-up

¥ Doctor offices calling patients to remind and confirm
appointments.

Personal Example:

> A Church or religious organization calling members about
service time changes -

» Charity groups reminding volunteers of project start tmes

#2 Schools

Messages from educational
mstitutions to its students, parents, or
employees, includes:
»Elementary
»Secondary
»>Postsecondary




#3 Employers

Message from employers to employees
advising of work schedules

#4 Political Subdivisions

Messages from a political subdivision. )
» le. - Severe weather alerts, construction information

Political Subdivisions include:

» Villages

» Citles of all classes

» Counties

» School Districts

» Learning Communities

» Public Power Districts

» All other units of local government

*Droes NOT inc!udé contractors with pelitical subdivisions

Who needs a Registration?

> The person operating an Auto Dialer must
hold a registration

» Those contracting with a third party to place
Auto Dialer calls on their behalf do NOT
need a registration, however, they must
engure the third party is properly
Tegistered,




Registration Applications

» Applicants must fill out an application form
provided by the Commission

» There is one form for both Permits and
Registration, the applicant simply indicates which
kind of authority is sought

> Applications must include a sample script ora
description of the type of scripts the applicant
intends to run

» Application forms are available on the
Commission’s website: www.psc.nebraska.gov

Application Process

> File the completed and signed application form
with the Commission. (No fee required for
registrations)}

» Commission staff will process the application and
assign the application a docket number. All Auto
Dialer authorities are given AT} docket numbers.

» If all requirements are met, the Commission will
enter an order approving the application at its next
meeting

» The order serves as the official Registration for the
Auto Dialer {Good for 2 years)

Message Requirements

> State at the beginning of the message the
identity of the person or group responsible
for the message;

» A phone number or address, other than of
the device, of person makmg call, includes
email addresses; and

» Only transmit calls betWeen the hours of 8

a.m. and 9 p.m., time determined by called
party’s location




Filing Scripts

» Scripts for registrations must be filed no later
than 24 hours from the time the message
ran.

» Scripts can be filed before the cail runs.

» Scripts are placed in the appropriate
registration or permit holder’s file.

Will the Commission look at the
content of my message?

The Comumissicn only reviews scripts for the
limited purpose to ensure statutorily required
information is included.

The Commission does not review scripts for
content of the messages.

Will my scripts be kept confidential?

Scripts are public records

They will be made available for public
inspection upon the receipt of a public
records request.




How do I file a script?

+ Scripts can be filed with the Commission via
scmail
ofax

+snail mail {must be received by
deadline).

+in person during business hours

Script Filing Information

+ Email to: )
nichole mulcahy@nebraska.gov and
susan.hom@nebraska.gov
+ Fax to: '
(402) 471-0254, Attn: Communications Department

+ Mail to:
The Nebraska Public Service Commission
300 The Awrinm
1200 N Street
Lincoln, NE 68508

Do I need to file a script we have
used before?

» Scripts only need to be filed once. If a script
has been previously filed, it does not need to
be filed again. Only new or changed scripts
are required to be filed within 24 hours.

*If it has been more than 2 years since the script was
run, the script must be filed under the new AD
Docket Number.




What if my script is basically the
same with minor variations. Do 1
need to file a copy of each one?

No, a sample script indicating the information
that will change and an explanatory
statement about how each one will be
slightly different is sufficient.

Example: This message is for [insert name}.
Please remember to vote in the Primary
election this Tuesday.

Liability

Both the Auto Dialer operator and anyone
who contracts with an Auto Dialer to make
calls on their behalf are jointly and severally
liable to ensure the provisions of the Act are
followed.

Applies to both Registrations and Permits

- Questions?




Contact Information

Nichole Mulcahy

Legal

{402)471-0234
Nichole.mulcahy@nebraska gov

Susan Horn
Administrative Support
(402)471-0248
Susan.horn@nebraska. gov
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