
Detariffing of Retail Business Services 
FAQs Sheet 

 
 
1.  How do I give the Commission notice that my company wants to detariff its business 
services and maintain the rates, terms, and conditions of such service on the company’s 
website? 
 
Answer:  The statute requires the company give written notice to the Commission prior to 
detariffing its business services.  A written notice form is available on the Commission’s 
website www.psc.nebraska.gov. 
 
2.  If my company maintains an integrated tariff, meaning my residential and business 
services are intermixed throughout the tariff, do I have to file an entirely new tariff? 
 
Answer:  That is one option, but it is not required.  It is within the company’s discretion 
how it wants to remove the business portions of its tariff.  You may simply submit 
replacement pages for the pages that contain business services stating “detariffed” or 
something similar.  Sample pages of a company’s pages that have used this option are 
available on the Commission’s website. 
 
3.  If my company’s tariff is separated between residential and business services do I 
need to submit anything or just request the business pages be removed? 
 
Answer:  For reference by the Commission or any persons examining the tariff on file in 
the Commission offices, we request a cover sheet giving notice the business services are 
detariffed and the company web address where information on the business services is 
located.  A form cover sheet is available on the Commission’s website.  Carriers are 
encouraged to adapt the form to suit their needs.    
 
4.  What issued and effective dates do I put on any pages or cover sheet I submit? 
 
Answer:  The effective date when the business services are detariffed is at the discretion 
of the company.  However, to avoid confusion, the Commission requests a minimum of 10 
days notice to enable staff to make the necessary updates to the company’s tariff and the 
Commission’s website.  Therefore, the issued date would be the date the new pages or 
cover sheet is submitted to the Commission and the effective date would be a minimum of 
10 days from the date of submission to the Commission.   
 
5.  Do I have to submit the written notice prior to submitting the new tariff pages or cover 
sheet? 
 
Answer:  No, the written notice and the new tariff pages or cover sheet may be submitted 
simultaneously, the Commission just requests a minimum of 10 days between submission 



and effective date.  However, the written notice may be submitted prior to the new tariff 
pages or cover sheet.   
 
6.  How do I find out what companies in Nebraska have detariffed their business rates 
and services? 
 
Answer:  The Commission maintains a list of all companies operating in Nebraska that 
have detariffed their business services and the corresponding company website.  The list 
is available on the Commission’s website.   
 
7.  After my company detariffs its business rates and services are we required to notify 
the Commission of any changes to the business rates, terms, and conditions of such 
services? 
 
Answer:  As before, carriers must give notice of changes to basic rates to the Commission 
and customers along with public meetings pursuant to statute.  Notice is not required for 
any other changes outside of basic rates, however,  the Commission requests a courtesy 
copy of any customer notices or contacts regarding changes in the rates, terms, and 
conditions of business services be sent to the Commission as well.  The Commission 
receives customer calls and inquiries and information on notices received by customers is 
extremely helpful.   
 
8.  If I have questions regarding detariffing or tariffs in general who do I contact? 
 
Answer:  Please contact Cheryl Elton at (402) 471-3101 or (800) 526-0017, or email to 
cheryl.elton@nebraska.gov.   


